top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrett Pearson

Here....we.....go!

It has been a dream of mine since before my kids were born to get an old bus and convert it into an rv, and travel North America with them in search of adventure!

I have vaccilated between buying an old school bus or motor coach(Greyhound Bus.) What size bus, rear engine, front engine, etc., etc..

Well, after watching Craigslist, government auctions and Facebook Marketplace, for a month or so, I found one. It is a 1985 MCI 96A3 with a 6V92 Detroit Diesel 2 Stroke Motor and an Allison 740 4 speed automatic transmission.

It was located at a Baptist church in Valdosta, and was having some engine issues, but the price was very low, and I took a chance that I would be able to get it home.

It took two trips back and forth, one with my oldest son, Bret, the other solo, to get it running, but get it running we did!

I made a third trip down last weekend with my youngest son, Cole, and my Uncle in law, Paul, in tow. Paul drove my car and brought up the rear, just incase....

It was a great trip, and despite a brief break(down) on the side of the road to replace an oil filter, we were able get her home.

Anyway, I have created this blog to chronicle the conversion of our Bus to an RV.

Feel free to comment or ask questions, and enjoy!


Cole and Me somewhere on I-75 Northbound from Valdosta, in the Bus:)




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page